This New Jersey Defensive Driving Course is APPROVED
453 Reviews | 4.9 Stars
6 hours (complete at your own pace)
Text, Audio, and Video Formats
>80% (unlimited exam retakes for FREE)
Online New Jersey Defensive Driving Course APPROVED by the New Jersey DMV that Will Help You Remove 2 Points and Earn Up to a 10% Car Insurance Discount.
You May Take this Course to Remove 2 Points Once Every 5 Years and Earn a Car Insurance Discount Every 3 Years (not valid for a commercial/TLC or out-of-state license).
We are a Local New Jersey Based Defensive Driving Course Provider.
This is the Easiest and Most Convenient Way to Complete Defensive Driving (Text, Audio, and Video Streaming Formats Available).
Available 24/7 - Complete the Course at Your Own Pace.
Unlimited Final Exam Retakes for Free.
Free Certificate Download Available Immediately and We Notify the NJ DMV of Your Completion.
It can be discouraging to receive points on your driving record because of a traffic violation, as well as pay high auto insurance rates every month. Our MVC-Approved NJ Defensive Driving Course at DriveSafeToday can help.
This NJ defensive driving course takes 6-hours to complete -- all online! Drivers can remove 2 points from their driving record and are eligible for up to a 10% discount on car insurance for 3 years. The course lessons are easy, quick, and engaging so you receive benefits as soon as possible.
DriveSafeToday’s New Jersey defensive driving course has also been APPROVED by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).
A NJ defensive driving course is packed with benefits. By taking the course, you can avoid points being added to your driver’s license because of a traffic violation or reduce the points already on your license.
You can also receive up to a 10% insurance discount when you take the course voluntarily. You should check with your insurance company for the exact discount amount. Here’s how to obtain both benefits:
Earn a Discount on Your Insurance Rates
Receiving the discount on your monthly insurance rates is easy with DriveSafeToday’s course. Simply sign up for the 6-hour course, complete the lessons, and take the final exam. Be sure to check with your insurance company how much of a discount they provide.
Once you’ve received your certificate of completion for the course (available for immediate download after receiving at least 80% on your final exam), send it to your insurance company. Take the course once every 3 years to renew this discount.
Reduce or Prevent Up to 2-Points on Your Driving Record
With DriveSafeToday’s online defensive driving course, you can:
Reduce points already on your driving record.
Prevent more points from being added to your record because of a traffic violation.
Similar to the insurance discount, you don’t have to notify the New Jersey MVC that you’re going to complete the course since it’s voluntary.
With the course, you can reduce or prevent up to 2 points from being added to your driving record. Start by enrolling in DriveSafeToday’s defensive driving course.
Upon completion of the course final exam, DriveSafeToday will notify the New Jersey MVC on your behalf and will provide a certificate of completion for immediate download.
Check your NJ driving record after a few weeks of submitting your certificate to ensure points have been removed or reduced.
While this voluntary New Jersey defensive driving course may be taken as often as a driver prefers, benefits are limited by state law.
NJ Defensive Driving Eligibility
Drivers are only eligible for the 2-point reduction every 5 years and only if the points exist on the driving record when the course is completed.
The car insurance discount may vary by provider. If you plan to attend this course for a car insurance discount, check with your provider to ensure that they offer the discount
This course is not valid for commercial/TLC or out-of-state licenses.
Because our coursework is available online 24/7, the New Jersey defensive driving course can be completed on your schedule.
Drivers can log in on any mobile device (phone, laptop, or tablet) to complete lessons - no need to sit in a stuffy classroom for hours. Your progress will also be saved as you go so you can always pick up where you left off.
Here’s how the course works:
Register for the DriveSafeToday course online by creating an account.
Complete the 6-hour course on any device (text, audio, and video streaming formats available).
Take the final exam as many times as necessary - retakes are unlimited at no charge!
Receive your certificate of completion for immediate download.
An 80% score is required for completion, and attendees can take the final exam an unlimited number of times at no charge.
A defensive driving course is an excellent way to not only improve your driving and safety skills, but also reduce your monthly insurance rates and get points taken off your record.
No matter what you want to do with your NJ defensive driving course, we’re here to help at DriveSafeToday. Check out our engaging online course and complete from the comfort of your home at any time.
DriveSafeToday makes the process of completing the course convenient, simple, and affordable. See how you can benefit from taking the New Jersey Defensive Driving Course today.
Benefit of Taking Our New Jersey Defensive Driving Course Online
The course is 100% online - no classroom required.
Take the course from any device - mobile, tablet, and computer. It's available 24/7 and you may complete it at your schedule.
The course will always resume from where you left off.
Completion Certificate for the New Jersey Defensive Driving Course
Upon successful course completion, well immediately provide a certificate of completion for you to download and well also email you a copy at no extra charge.
We'll notify the New Jersey of your completion within 1 business day.
453 Reviews | 4.9 Stars
Very good course. This course helped me remove 2 points and get an insurance discount. I will take this course again for sure.
This course was had some useful and interesting material. I learned a lot from it! I have recommended this course to my whole family.
I found this course years ago to remove 2 points from my license and now I take it every 3 years for the insurance discount. Even though i've taken it before, I still feel like I learn something new every time. Definitely recommend taking this course!
Yes, our New Jersey defensive driving course is approved by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). Our New Jersey based instructors are certified in New Jersey and have developed this online course to meet all the requirements of the New Jersey MVC.
You may take this course once every 5 years for a 2-point reduction. You must already have the 2 points on your license for the points to be removed - it does not apply to future points. We will notify the New Jersey MVC on your behalf on the next available business day. This is the most convenient, affordable, and fun way to remove points from your New Jersey driver's license.
You may take the New jersey defensive driving course once every 3 years for a car insurance discount & once every 5 years for point removal. Don't worry - we'll keep track and remind you when you are up for a renewal. At DriveSafeToday, we are dedicated to making this process simple, convenient, and affordable.
Yes. Submit the Certificate of Completion to your insurance agent/company and you will qualify for up to a 10% insurance discount for 3 years. You can renew this discount every 3 years! Saving money on your insurance premiums is convenient and affordable with our online insurance discount course.
No, this course is only valid for a normal, basic automobile license.
No, this course is only valid for New Jersey-license holders. We only notify the NJ DMV of course completions by NJ license holders.
No, this course is NOT valid for a commercial or TLC license. The course is only valid for non-commercial, regular driver's licenses.
A defensive driving class teaches you good safety driving habits that align with the requirements of the DMV/court. You'll learn about the damages of traffic crashes, crash dynamics, psychological impacts on your driving, crash prevention techniques, and more. If you're looking for a defensive driving course near you, consider an online course. Course material typically includes videos, stories, and audio that can be completed entirely from your computer, smartphone or tablet.
Once you have satisfied the course requirements for the NJ defensive driving course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. You can then present this certificate to the DMV (or the course providers will automatically notify them) to have two points taken off of your license. In New Jersey, you're also eligible for up to a 10% car insurance discount. Be sure to check with your insurance company how much of a discount they will provide.
Yes, but you have to take a defensive driving course that is both state and curriculum approved. A two point reduction can also only be received once ever 5 years.
Your New Jersey driving record, also called your Driver History Abstract, keeps track of all auto incidents you've been involved in, as well as points that may be on your NJ license. The state of New Jersey gives you the option to view your record online, receive by mail, or in-person. If you would like to view your record online, first register with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. You can then request to view your record (note that there is a $15 processing fee) and check the number of points on your license.
Two points can be removed from your license by taking a state-approved defensive driving course in NJ. However, you must have at least 2 points on your license to be eligible to take the course. You can only take a defensive driving course once every five years to reduce points.
Acquiring two points on your license can increase your auto insurance rate significantly, especially if you committed past violations. There are ways to reduce this rate. Taking a defensive driving course voluntarily means that you can receive up to a 10% insurance rate reduction when you present your certificate of completion to your insurance company. You can also re-take the defensive driving course once every three years to receive the discount.
An online defensive driving course in New Jersey takes a minimum of six hours to complete. An excellent benefit to the online option vs in-person classes is the ability to complete the course from anywhere - whether on your smartphone, laptop, or table. You can also choose to complete the course in a day or work on the material over time; your schedule is up to you!
You can complete a defensive driving course online or in-person in the state of New Jersey. The course however must be certified by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) for you to be eligible for point reduction.
You can take the defensive driving course once every five years in NJ to receive point reduction. You can take the course once every three years to receive the insurance discount.
The price of a defensive driving in NJ depends on the course. DriveSafeToday's defensive driving course costs only $19.95. Our NJ MJV-approved course is available in text, audio, and video streaming formats and completion allows you to remove 2 points from your NJ driving record once every 5 years. You can also receive up to a 10% car insurance discount for 3 years.
Completion deadlines depend on why you're taking the course. If you are completing the course for court-mandated point reduction, review the court deadline before taking the course. If you want to receive the insurance discount, you do not have to be complete the course by a specific deadline. However, you must complete any defensive driving course within 730 days of registration. Otherwise, your defensive driving course account will be eliminated.
No, any driver with a valid non-commercial New Jersey driver's license may complete a defensive driving course in NJ.
Yes, once you've completed the course material, you must complete a written driving exam. This test demonstrates that you comprehend the course material. You need a score of 80% or higher to successfully pass the course. With DriveSafeToday's course, you can retake the exam as many times as needed for free.
With DriveSafeToday, you can take the final exam of the defensive driving course as many times as necessary until you pass (at no extra charge)!
There are only a few eligibility requirements for taking a New Jersey defensive driving course. Besides having a valid non-commercial New Jersey driver's license and at least 2 points on your driving record, you must not have completed the course in the last 5 years to be eligible for point reduction. If you want to complete the course to receive an insurance discount, you just can't have completed the course within the last 3 years.
Be sure to check with your insurance company how much of a discount they provide. Once you submit your certificate of completion from a New Jersey MJV-approved defensive driving course to your insurance provider, you can receive up to a 10% car insurance discount for 3 years.
Upon completion, DriveSafeToday will notify the New Jersey MVC on your behalf and will provide a certificate of completion of your NJ defensive driving course for immediate download.
No answers for your question?
We have dedicated pages for each state and course. Help Center
Get started with the New Jersey Defensive Driving Course now. You'll find that our course is the most convenient and affordable option. Complete the course at your own pace - you may log in and out and the course will resume from where you left off. Register now and see why DriveSafeToday is the leading provider of defensive driving courses nationwide! If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to our support team by live chat or phone.