- Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Also Known as the Drug and Alcohol Test is Approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
- Fulfills One of the Requirements to Get your Learner's Permit (the other requirement is the Florida Permit Exam which is NOT included but we provide it - see the COMBO course for more details on taking both together).
- This Course is 100% Online and Available 24/7 - this is the Easiest and Most Convenient Way to Complete the TLSAE Course.
- You are Provided Unlimited Exam Retakes for Free.
- We Immediately Notify the Florida DHSMV of Your Completion & Provide a Certificate for Download.
About the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE) Course is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). It is also called the drug and alcohol course and is one of the requirements to obtain your first learner's license. The course covers how alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to drive, laws and responsibilities, safe driving techniques, and how to increase your awareness on roadways.
Conveniently Take the TLSAE Course Online
Our TLSAE course is 100% online and you can complete it at your own schedule. It's available 24/7 and compatible with any internet-accessible device (mobile, tablet, computer). You must score at least 80% on the final exam to pass, but you have unlimited final exam retakes for free. We'll notify the FL DHSMV of your completion which will then take 48 hours for it to appear on your record. We'll also provide you a certificate to download for your records. This is the easiest, most convenient way to complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
Benefits of the TLSAE Course
DriveSafeToday.com's course is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMSHV). Completion of this course will allow you to fulfill one of the requirements of obtaining a learner's license in Florida. Top tier customer support, affordable price, and effective course material have made DriveSafeToday one of the leading TLSAE course providers. The course is divided into easy-to-read sections that include entertaining stories and interactive content. We also offer audio narration for free which allows you to listen to the entire course. If you have any questions, please contact our customer support at (800) 991-0310 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. You must complete the Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course for that. The TLSAE course will only help you obtain your learner's license in Florida.
Yes. Florida requires individuals under 18 must complete the drug & alcohol course as one of the requirements to get their learner's permit. It's 100% online - no classroom required.
Yes, the Florida DMV states you must also complete the 50-question road signs and regulations test (DHSMV Online Permit Exam). We also provide this exam online which you will see under the listed courses/exams for Florida on our website.
At this time we only offer the TLSAE course in English. We hope to provide it in other languages soon.
The Traffic Law And Substance Abuse Education course takes a minimum of 4-hours to complete. With an online option, the course can be completed from anywhere, anytime.
Taking the drug and alcohol test is one requirement that you must complete to receive your learner's permit. It is made up of 40 multiple-choice questions. You can take this test after you have completed a 4-hour traffic law and substance abuse education course which teaches you about the effects that alcohol and drugs have on your driving ability. It also prepares you for the drug and alcohol exam.
You have to score at least 80% on the drug and alcohol test to pass in Florida. Luckily, DriveSafeToday's course allows for unlimited retakes for free so you can successfully complete this specific requirement to receive your learner's permit.
Yes, DriveSafeToday's course is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). Completion of this course/test will allow you to fulfill one of the requirements of obtaining a learner's license in Florida.
DriveSafeToday's course costs only $24.95. This price includes the price of the course, the $3.00 state assessment fee and the servicing fee charged by DriveSafeToday. The DHSMV Permit Exam is not included in this price - that is a separate exam that we also provide and is another requirement to obtain your learner's permit.
Yes, taking the drug and alcohol test is required to get your learner's permit in Florida if you are under the age of 18. It's also one of the requirements to receive your driver's license if you are a first-time driver over the age of 18. The 4-hour traffic law and substance abuse education course and test can be completed online with DriveSafeToday, however, so you never have to leave the comfort of your home.
To receive a Class E driver’s license in Florida if you are 18 years and older, you need to provide: Proof of identity Proof of Social Security number Proof of residential address Proof of completion of a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course or license from another state, country, or jurisdiction.
You can take a Florida DHSMV approved TLSAE course completely online to help you earn your learner's permit. Taking an online course that's available 24/7 and compatible with any internet-accessible device (mobile, tablet, computer) gives you the freedom to work at your own pace.
You can take the required drug and alcohol test completely online by completing a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) approved TLSAE course. It's the easiest and most convenient way to complete the test as one of the requirements to receive your learner's permit.
At DriveSafeToday, we'll notify the FL DHSMV of your course completion which will then take 48 hours for it to appear on your record. We'll also provide you a certificate of completion to download for your records.
First-time drivers in Florida must complete a traffic law and substance abuse education course (TLSAE) to be eligible for their learner's permit.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires all course providers to process and submit the TLSAE course completion information to them. This $24.95 fee includes both the state assessment fee plus a servicing fee that DriveSafeToday (the Provider) charges. The state assessment fee portion is $3 and it is remitted to the Department's Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund which is used to administer the General Operations of the Department and the remainder is the servicing fee charged by the Provider which includes processing and submitting your information to the DHSMV, credit card transaction fees incurred by the Provider and maintaining certain course records pursuant to Florida Law.
You have already completed and passed a DHSMV Online Permit Exam. Please click below button to check.
Drive Safe Today considers “unapproved states” the states that have not approved and/or licensed Drive Safe Today to offer state-approved defensive driving courses and related services. The current list of unapproved states are as follows: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
In the aforementioned unapproved states, permission/approval from the appropriate parties to take one of Drive Safe Today’s courses must be requested and given before registration. Further clarification: You must get your insurance company/agent’s approval to take a car insurance discount course prior to registration. Also, you must get a judge/court’s approval to take one of our court-ordered courses prior to registration.
Drive Safe Today is not liable for any issues that may arise from failing to follow these instructions. As such, no refunds or reimbursements will be given or considered with respect to these terms.