- Online Texas Defensive Driving Course Approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) & Accepted by all Texas Courts.
- Dismiss Your Traffic Ticket, Earn a Car Insurance Discount & Fulfill Employer/Court Requirements to Take a Driving Safety Course with this Online Course (you may take the course once every 12 months).
- There is No Final Exam - You are Guaranteed to Pass as Long as You Complete the Course.
- This is the Easiest Way to Complete the Texas Defensive Driving Course Online.
- Certificate will be Emailed to you for Free and Available to Download Immediately After Course Completion.
- We Notify TDLR of Your Completion (you are responsible for notifying the court and your insurance company).
- We Also Offer the Option to Add-on the Court-Required Type 3A Driving Record.
Texas Defensive Driving Course
Our 6-hour online defensive driving course is designed to help Texas drivers learn more about road safety through a digital environment.
This course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and can be used to dismiss a traffic ticket, earn a car insurance discount, and fulfills employer and court-mandated driving safety requirements.
Getting a ticket isn’t a pleasant experience. It can also quickly damage your driving record as points add up from citations. That’s why we recommend taking an online defensive driving course (also called a driving safety course) that’s TDLR approved.
Reasons to Take a Texas Driving Safety Course
A Texas driving safety course gives you the opportunity to learn about Texas traffic safety laws and best practices.
This course may also help you reduce your insurance rates - be sure to contact you insurance company for full details.
Get Your Ticket Dismissed With Our Texas Defensive Driving Course
The more traffic tickets and points you receive, the more likely you are to lose your license. A defensive driving course can help prevent that.
Here’s how it works: Ask the court for permission to take an online defensive driving course. You can request permission by phone, in-person, or in writing on the back of your citation. You should also meet the defensive driving requirements which includes:
- Valid Texas non-commercial driver’s license.
- You haven’t completed a defensive driving course within the past 12 months.
- Your ticket was for less than 25 MPH.
- You didn’t receive your ticket in a construction zone.
Bring the necessary documents and forms to court (or mail them in) including your Texas driving record, your signed citation that pleads guilty, and any other documents that the court requires.
Once you’ve received permission, register for DriveSafeToday’s online defensive driving course. Complete the course within the time period that the court allows (normally within 90 days).
Send your certificate of completion and your official TX driving record to the court. This can be done by mail, email, or in person. They’ll let you know when your ticket has been dismissed.
Qualify for an Insurance Discount With the Texas Defensive Driving Course
Taking a defensive driving course opens opportunities to reduce your insurance premiums. In fact, some providers take 2%-10% off your monthly insurance bill for completing a defensive driving course.
Contact your insurance provider to determine if you qualify for an insurance discount for taking a Texas driving safety class. If you do qualify, check how long the discount will last.
Next, register for the defensive driving course and complete. You’ll then receive a certificate of completion that you can send to your insurance provider who can apply the discount.
How The TDLR-Approved Online Defensive Driving Course Works
An online defensive driving course teaches you the ins and outs of Texas traffic laws, best driving practices, and more.
Here are a few other important details about DriveSafeToday’s course:
- Self-paced course on your schedule.
- No final exam - you’re guaranteed to pass as long as you complete the course.
- The course is also available as an audio narration.
The best part? You can take DriveSafeToday’s TDLR-approved online defensive driving course from ANYWHERE - it’s 100% online. No need to sit in a stuffy classroom for six hours. You can complete this course at your own pace, on any device. You are not required to complete the course in a single sitting.
Note: For drivers attempting to dismiss a traffic citation, permission to take this course is granted by the court listed on your citation. Please note that the state of Texas only allows a defensive driving course to be used once every 12 months for this purpose.
Texas Online Defensive Driving Course Certificate
Drivers completing our online defensive driving course will receive a certificate of completion via email. Physical certificates can be shipped via USPS First Class or Priority Mail Express for an additional charge.
Drivers may be required to present this certificate to the court, an insurance provider, or an employer
Texas Driving Record
If you’re trying to get your ticket dismissed, you’ll also need to present an official copy of your Texas driving record to the court (in addition to your certificate of completion).
Not to worry, we also offer the option to receive your driving record through DriveSafeToday so you can get your ticket dismissed in no time. We can obtain and provide you with an official Texas Type 3A driving record.
You can visit DriveSafeToday's Texas Driving Record page to learn more.
Sign up for a Texas Approved Defensive Driving Course
Taking a Texas online defensive driving course doesn’t have to be complicated. DriveSafeToday makes it simple.
Start by creating an account with DriveSafeToday. You can then easily begin the course and complete online - whether you’re in Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, or any other city/county in Texas!
Our course at DriveSafeToday is approved throughout the state and a great option to help you dismiss a traffic ticket and receive an insurance discount.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Our Texas defensive driving course is approved by the TDLR and accepted by all Texas courts.
You may take the course once every 12 months.
You are eligible to take this course if you: (1) Hold a valid non-commercial drivers license; (2) Have been cited for a minor moving violation; (3) Have NOT completed a defensive driving course in the last 12 months; (4) Did NOT commit your infraction in a construction zone. If you still are unclear as to whether you qualify for traffic school, contact your court to request more information.
Yes. We recommend that you contact your insurance provider and find out if they offer a discount and how much.
No. If you were cited for a seat belt violation or ordered by a judge/court to take a seat belt course, you must take refer to your local DMV for courses that would assist you.
Yes, upon completion we'll email you a copy of your certificate. You may also request physical copy of your certificate mailed to you via USPS First Class Mail (3-5 business day expected arrival) or USPS Priority Mail Express (1-2 business day arrival) for an extra charge.
Yes. Generally you will still have to pay the ticket even if you are taking the Texas defensive driving course. Speak with the court clerk for further details.
A defensive driving course is designed to teach you safe driving skills and keep you and others safe on the road. Also known as a Texas ticket dismissal course, it can be used to dismiss tickets, earn a car insurance discount, and fulfill employer and court-mandated driving safety requirements.
If you're trying to dismiss a traffic citation, start by getting permission to take the course by the court listed on your citation. You can ask via email or in person. Also know that the state of Texas only allows a defensive driving course to be used once every 12 months for this purpose. Next, you can easily sign up online with a Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) course provider like DriveSafeToday. Complete the defensive driving online anytime, anywhere from your phone, tablet, or computer. Once complete, your certificate will be emailed to you for free.
The online defensive driving course takes six hours to complete. But with an online course, you don't have to complete the course in one sitting. Instead, your progress is saved online as you go through course lessons. Simply complete within 90 days of registering for the course.
It depends on your insurance provider and location, However, a defensive driving insurance discount typically ranges between 2% and 10%. This amount is taken off of your monthly insurance bill.
No, you do not have to take a final exam with this course. Once you've completed the course, you'll receive a Certificate of Completion via email or mail (for an extra fee) to download and present to the court, an insurance provider, or an employer.
With DriveSafeToday's online defensive driving course, there is no final exam - you simply have to complete the 6-hour course.
There's not a deadline if you're completing the course to get an insurance discount - complete on your own time table. But there is likely a deadline if the Texas defensive driving course is court-required. Check with the court, but you typically have 90 days to complete a court-ordered defensive driving course.
It depends on your insurance provider, but the defensive driving discount normally lasts for three years. After that, your insurance provider might let you take the defensive driving course again so you can keep the discount.
No. With DriveSafeToday's online defensive driving course, you can choose to complete the course in one day or you can finish it over several days. The course is self-paced and your progress is saved each time you finish a lesson.
With DriveSafeToday, you'll receive your certificate of completion via email. Physical certificates can be shipped via USPS First Class or Priority Mail Express for an additional charge. You can then send this document to the court if you're trying to dismiss a traffic citation. If you took the course to receive an insurance discount, you'll send to your insurance provider.
Yes! First, make sure you're eligible for ticket dismissal. You can contact your county court to see if a Texas defensive driving course can get your ticket dismissed. If the court approves, you can sign up for our defensive driving course. This flexible course is online and can be completed from any device 24/7.
A driving safety course in Texas and a defensive driving course are the same thing. You take this course to either dismiss a ticket or present to an insurance provider to receive an insurance discount.
In a Texas defensive driving course, you'll learn about skills and best practices to keep you and others safe on the road. Topics include safe driving techniques, what to do in driving emergencies, and how to avoid aggressive driving behaviors such as road rage. You'll also learn about Texas insurance laws.
Defensive driving courses cost $25 minimum, as mandated by the state of Texas. At DriveSafeToday, we offer the lowest price course allowed by Texas law.
Simply register online for the defensive driving course at DriveSafeToday. Our course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) & accepted by all Texas courts. Easily complete the 6-hour course from anywhere, including your phone, computer, and tablet. Upon completion, you'll receive a certificate that you can then send to the court to get your ticket dismissed or your insurance provider to receive an insurance discount if your insurance company provides a discount.
If you're taking the defensive driving course as a court-requirement and don't complete the course within 90 days, you could be faced with court summons or additional fines. Let the court know if you're unable to complete the course within a 90 day period. You can send your certificate of completion immediately to the court with DriveSafeToday as this is sent directly to you via email.
If you are completing the course for ticket dismissal, you will have to plead guilty or no contest to the court. You have until your court appearance date to request taking the course to dismiss your ticket.
STATE REPORTING FEE
You have already completed and passed a DHSMV Online Permit Exam. Please click below button to check.
Drive Safe Today considers “unapproved states” the states that have not approved and/or licensed Drive Safe Today to offer state-approved defensive driving courses and related services. The current list of unapproved states are as follows: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
In the aforementioned unapproved states, permission/approval from the appropriate parties to take one of Drive Safe Today’s courses must be requested and given before registration. Further clarification: You must get your insurance company/agent’s approval to take a car insurance discount course prior to registration. Also, you must get a judge/court’s approval to take one of our court-ordered courses prior to registration.
Drive Safe Today is not liable for any issues that may arise from failing to follow these instructions. As such, no refunds or reimbursements will be given or considered with respect to these terms.